- You can delete your Amazon account via the "Close Your Amazon Account" page.
- Amazon will send you a confirmation email, which you'll need to respond to within five days to delete your account.
- Once you close your Amazon account, you'll lose access to your order history, gift cards, and anything else associated with the account.
- Visit Insider's Tech Reference library for more stories.
There are many reasons you might want to distance yourself from Amazon and delete your account with the online retail giant.
But for many people, deleting an Amazon account can mean permanently giving up a large video or audiobook library. Still, for those who understand what it entails, the task can be easily accomplished.
Here's how to delete your Amazon account, and what that means so you're prepared for what comes next.
How to delete your Amazon account
Amazon doesn't make deleting your account easily accessible (and the account pages are somewhat dense).
But once you find the correct page, the process is fairly simple:
1. Go to the "Close Your Amazon Account" page and sign into the Amazon account that you want to delete.
2. Review the products and services for that account and, if you still want to proceed, select a reason for deleting your account from the drop-down menu.
3. Tick the box next to, "Yes, I want to permanently close my Amazon account and delete my data."
4. Click "Close my Account."
5. You'll receive an email confirmation. Reply to this email within five days to delete your account.